The Ripple Award in 2018 is in memory of Peter Cullen Trust Fellow Dr Phillip Wallis.

WINNER:  Dr Kirsten Shelly  – Congratulations Kirsten!

Kirsten Shelly receiving her award from the 2017 Ripple Award winner Sarina Loo (on right).

Excerpt from Sarina Loo’s speech below:

It is important to award the Ripple Award this year in memory of Phil because in doing so we stop to pause and reflect on not only the important work Phil did in collaborative research in the water sector in Australia but the quiet determination and passion he had for the work of the Peter Cullen Trust, and the National Fellows Network.


The Peter Cullen Trust Ripple Award this year is awarded to an individual who has harnessed the opportunities that participating in the Trust’s Leadership Program presented them. As a strong advocate for how leadership development can change lives by profoundly affecting career paths, the awardee has recognised the power of networks and the impact of paying it forward.

In their role as Ministerial Advisor, they have had measurable impact on water policy in Australia with particular influence on supporting women in leadership in Victoria. Since her graduation in 2011, she has been a leader within the Fellows Network, she has been a Board member, assisted with the creation of the National Fellow Network Coordinating Group and participated in the inaugural group. She has also been a guest speaker at the Women in Water Leadership Program and attended many PCT events, representing the Trust in a very positive light.

As a dear friend of Phil Wallis, it is very fitting that in 2018, the Peter Cullen Trust Ripple Award is awarded in memory of Dr Phillip Wallis, to an inspirational woman in water, Kirsten Shelley.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *